The Best Books of 2016

As promised, this week I am talking about the top 10 books I’ve read in 2016. Full disclosure, it took me ages to narrow it down to ten since I a lot of pretty good books came out this year. I also read a bunch of really bad ones (or ones that I personally think are highly overrated) but that’s a whole different matter. So, shall we start?

10. Ruined by Amy Tintera – I bought a copy of this in LA, having heard great things about Amy Tintera’s previous series. It’s about a girl, whose country is ravaged by war. Her family is killed and her sister is missing. She doesn’t have powers unlike her fellow countrymen but she’s hellbent on revenge and finding her sister. I really enjoyed this book. Was it perfect? No. But it was fast-paced, action-filled and overall incredibly enjoyable. I really liked Em and her chemistry with Casimir. It’s perfect for fans of Red Queen. ruined

9. My Lady Jane by Jodi Meadows, Cynthia Hand and Brodi Ashton – I got an ARC of this one at YALLWEST without knowing anything about it prior to meeting the authors. I have to admit though I really liked it. This is a comical, light-hearted reimagining of the story of Lady Jane Grey. It’s set during the reign of Edward VI but instead of the divide between Protestants and Catholics, there’s an ongoing war between Verities and Eðians, the latter being a form of shapeshifters. I was absolutely charmed by this book. It mocks sexist attitudes and 16th-century society in general. The plot is really well-developed and if you like your historicals with a dash of silliness definitely pick this one up.

8. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare – Okay, so I’m a huge fan of TMI and her shadowhunter series in general so naturally, when Lady Midnight came out I delved right in. In this installment, we’re following the life of Emma Carstairs (who we got to meet at the end of City of Heavenly Fire) and the LA institute. This whole book is just a perfect continuation of a beloved series and some of my favorite characters make an appearance so that’s always a plus in my books.

7. And I Darken by Kiersten White – It’s been ages since I read this one and I still cannot fully explain this gem. And I Darken caught me completely off guard. It’s so dark and gritty and unlike anything I’ve read. Lada was such a great if nasty heroine. I simply loved everything about this book. If you enjoy alternate history with a complex tangle of relationships, plus some LGBTQIA this is the book for you. darken

6. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski – The Winner’s Kiss is the third and final book in The Winner’s Trilogy and, in my opinion, the best one. The Winner’s Curse was slow-paced, romance heavy book then The Winner’s Crime was virtually no romance, action-packed rollercoaster.This one though balanced intrigue, action, and romance and it was just a PERFECT conclusion to an amazing trilogy. If you haven’t read it yet, you’re missing out!

5. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – Well, technically I read a proof of this last December but the book came out in 2016 and I did read it again once the finished copies were out so it still counts! I actually didn’t expect to love Amani’s adventures as much as I did but there it is. I admit I was a bit wary because of the ‘western’ in a Middle Eastern setting thing but apart from Amani being an awesome shot there weren’t many westerny bits so I was able to focus and enjoy it more. shadows

4. A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab – This is the sequel to A Darker Shade of Magic and follows Kell as he comes to terms with the potentially lasting effects of what happened in the last book. Also, there’s more of Lila and let’s be honest. I really freaking love Lila Bard. This book goes deeper into a really well-developed fantasy world and the writing skill is superb. A little side note, the whole trilogy has been picked up by Netflix so there may be a potential TV show at some point in the future.

3. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – This book hardly needs any prolonged explanation so really if you loved Six of Crows, well Crooked Kingdom is better! I adore Kaz and fell even more in love with Jesper and Wylan *sigh* dagger

2. The Rose & the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh – Another conclusion to a series I adore. There’s just something about Ahdieh’s world that keeps me reading until I realize I’ve just finished the whole thing in one sitting. We have a lot more political intrigue and betrayals in this one. We get to see more of Shazi’s sister and some really amazing ‘girls rock’ moments but let’s call it, shall we? We’re all reading it because of Khalid and his way with words…

1. The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman – I know a lot of people haven’t actually read this one yet but as we know I’m a huge Alison Goodman fan and it’s really no surprise I fell completely in love with this world. Set in 19th-century London, The Dark Days Club follows Lady Helen Wrexhall as she tries to navigate high society parties with her newfound supernatural abilities. It sounds pretty amazing, right? My only complaint was the sequel was so far away!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s